Skip to main content

Board of Directors

David Shemmans BEng
(Chief Executive Officer)

Dave Shemmans joined Ricardo in 1999 as Senior Business Development Manager for Ricardo Consulting Engineers ("RCE"). In 2002 he was appointed Business Development Director for the Ricardo Group and in December 2003, Managing Director of RCE. He was appointed to the Board as Chief Executive Officer Designate and Managing Director International Operations in February 2005, and became the Chief Executive Officer of Ricardo plc on 4 November 2005. Prior to joining Ricardo he was Operations Director and co-founder of Wavedriver Limited (a subsidiary of PowerGen plc). He has also gained consulting and management experience in both listed and private companies. He holds a degree in electronics from UMIST and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School. Dave was a board member of the Electronic Leadership Council and Member of the steering group for the New Automotive Innovation Growth Team.

Ian Gibson
(Chief Financial Officer)

Ian joined Ricardo on 13 May 2013 and appointed Chief Financial Officer with effect from 1 July 2013).  Ian is member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, He is a highly experienced finance professional with almost thirty years’ commercial experience, most recently as chief financial officer of Cable & Wireless Worldwide plc. He spent seventeen years in a number of senior financial management positions within the Cable & Wireless Group. In recent years he played a key role in both the demerger and listing of Cable & Wireless Worldwide plc, and the subsequent acquisition of that company by Vodafone. Prior to his time with Cable & Wireless, he spent twelve years at Deloitte where he worked in the audit and forensic accounting teams of the London and Toronto offices. 

Mark Garrett CEng, FIMechE
(Chief Operating Officer)

Mark Garrett was appointed as Group Engineering and Products Director on 1 July 2008 and on 1 July 2010 he was designated Chief Operating Officer. Mark joined Ricardo in August 1998 as Manager – Gasoline Engines, coming from the position of Small Car Powertrain Manager at Rover Group. Since joining Ricardo he has performed a number of key roles, including Global Product Group Director for Gasoline Engines and head of Ricardo 2010 Consultants Ltd. Mark holds an honours degree in mechanical engineering from Bristol University, is a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Terry Morgan CBE (Chairman)

Terry Morgan joined the Board on 2 January 2014 and was appointed Chairman on 29 October 2014.

Terry has been Chairman of Crossrail Limited since 2009 and prior to this he was Chief Executive of Tube Lines, a PPP company that was contracted to maintain and upgrade the infrastructure of the Jubilee, Northern and Piccadilly lines.

Terry’s experience includes Group Managing Director, Operations, BAE Systems; Group HR Director, BAE Systems; Managing Director (Royal Ordnance); Managing Director (Land Rover), Rover Group and Operations Director, Rover Group.Terry is the past President of the CMI (Chartered Management Institute) and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Electrical Engineers.  He has an MSc in Engineering Production & Management. Married with two children, his interests include golf and rugby.

Terry is Chairman of HS2 College Governing Body, Non-Executive Chairman of the Manufacturing Technology Centre and a Non-Executive Director of Boxwood Limited. He is also a Trustee of the London Transport Museum.



David Hall MA, MSC
(Non-Executive Director, Senior Independant Director)

David Hall was appointed a non-executive director on 21 February 2006 and was appointed as the Senior Independent Director on 18 November 2009. He was formerly at the Boston Consulting Group, the international strategic and management consulting firm, where he started and built up the financial services practice, served on the worldwide Executive Committee, was Chairman of BCG's ten global practice groups and had global responsibility for HR. David is also Chairman of the Financial Services Compensation Scheme and a member of the board of Hoare & Co, a private bank.

Hans-Joachim Schöpf
(Non-executive Director)

Hans-Joachim Schöpf was appointed non-executive director on 1 July 2009. He was formerly executive vice president at DaimlerChrysler AG, head of Mercedes R&D and member of the board of Mercedes Car Group. Since retiring from DaimlerChrysler in 2004, Professor Schöpf has been appointed to directorships of BEHR and TK Bilstein in Germany, Valmet Automotive in Finland and is a member of the advisory board of Mahle. In addition Professor Schöpf was a director of Ballard Power Systems in Canada until the end of 2007. He has also worked as an independent automotive consultant and is an Honorary Professor of the Technical University of Vienna and Honorary Senator of the Technical College of Esslingen. Hans is non-executive director of Ricardo's Technology Steering Group.

Peter Gilchrist
(Non-Executive Director)

Peter Gilchrist was appointed non-executive director on 1 December 2010. Peter is a leading military figure whose career spanning almost four decades in the British Army has involved him in some of the most senior positions in operations as well as in defence diplomacy, strategic management and procurement. Until his formal retirement from the service in 2009 he was based at the British Embassy in Washington DC where he was responsible for liaison with key bodies and senior figures in the Pentagon, National Security Council and State Department to ensure that UK priorities, intentions and actions were properly interpreted and understood. Before this he spent a period as Deputy Commanding General, Combined Forces Command Afghanistan, where he was closely involved in facilitating and ensuring that moves towards democracy and Afghan rule were not compromised. Prior to that for 4½ years he was Master General of the Ordnance on the Army Board and an Executive Director in the Defence Procurement Agency. Peter is currently Chairman of Push Technology Limited and the Board of Trustees, Tank Museum. He is also a director of Synergie Business Limited.

Ian Lee
(Non-executive Director)

Ian Lee was appointed as non-executive director on 1 August 2008 and Chairman of the Audit Committee on 18 November 2008. He is a former senior partner of Ernst & Young LLP in Glasgow. He was a member of the Ernst & Young governing Council for six years, and was a member of the firm's audit committee. He was the Convener of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland Audit and Assurance Committee. Ian was a non-executive director and chairman of the audit committee of Clyde Process Solutions plc from 2007 to February 2011, is currently a non-executive director, Vice Chair and member of the audit committee of NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Board and has recently been appointed as independent external member of the audit committee of the Student Loans Company.

Patricia Ryan
(Company Secretary)

Patricia Ryan is a qualified solicitor. Patricia joined Ricardo's Legal Department in 2002 and was appointed Group General Counsel in 2005 and Company Secretary in November 2008. Patricia holds an honours degree in law from University of Westminster and is a member of the Law Society.


Investors information
Price: p at
Change: p
Last Close: p

Contact Us

Please send us your query for this section from here

Name *
Email *
Location *
Query *